Pt. 1: A Few of my Favorite Trad Things (insert music…)

Alden Snuff Suede Indy Boots

Alden Snuff Suede Indy Boots

What do John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon, Dwight D. Eisenhower, and Indiana Jones have in common? Yes, I know, it’s a real stretch. Hint? Look at the shoes.  No, not Alden Snuff Suede Indy Boots, but all of the men mentioned above did wear Alden shoes and or boots.  Alden is one of the last of the great American shoemakers. My Alden Snuff Suede Indy Boots will have to be pried off my “dead feet” – or else they’re coming with me to the great beyond. This is how much I love these shoes. They may be pricey but, I assume that anyone reading this blog is not a fan of the disposable square toed plastic nightmares that masquerade as today’s mens footwear, and therefore understands that quality is at times, pricey. Perhaps the Trad man knows that a shoe is a gift to be shined, when needed, and resoled, when needed, until death do you part. The Trad man doesn’t give up his shoes. He treats them with care. And in return, they will last a lifetime.

The Sport of the Gods

Rugby: Sport of the Gods

Mens Sana in Corpore Sano, a healthy mind in a healthy body. Recite and memorize this little Latin phrase. Besides being incredibly fun, Rugby does three things very well: it helps build character, sportsmanship, and nurtures a competitive yet “tempered” spirit. Oh, and it may also be very good for your physicians wallet. So, in addition to “normal” Rugby, for those with delicate ankles, “touch” Rugby and “flag” Rugby will suffice (insert laughter). Play Rugby and you will be changed forever. Get a few guys together and play once a week. The lessons learned will be yours for a lifetime, much like a fractured collar bone. Every Trad man should excel in one sport. The Trad man is not interested in taking a seat among America’s sports fan cult class. Unfortunately,  todays man has become more adept at analyzing baseball statistics than knowing what a Louisville slugger feels like as it cracks a ball into center field. Enough watching – play already.

Custom Hide Barrister Bag

Custom Hide Barrister Bag

Custom Hide is another US based bag maker. Their bags are of exceptional quality and may very well outlive you. Http://www.customhide.com It’s a preferred bag of the adult species.

A Watchpiece for Grown Men

A Timepiece for Grown Men

Come a little closer, I want to whisper something in your ear. Please, for God’s sake, take off that hideous sportswatch. Put on a non-plastic watch. Is it too much to ask a man to wear a timepiece made for, well, him? I love my Hamilton military watch to death. A hand-me-down, from a military relative long since gone. Hamilton’s the famed US based (well once upon a time) watch maker. If you want to buy a real Hamilton, don’t buy a new Hamilton, only the vintage will do. The newer ones, I believe, are under a foreign manufacutuer and probably created with the sweat of a million foreign tongued child laborers.

What More Can I Say?

The Woodbridge from Southwick Clothing

It’s perfect and goes great with the aforementioned Alden boots.

If you have to ask...

If you have to ask...

You just wouldn’t get it. I’ve always been fond of the scholar/athlete. A Rugby ball snug in one arm and a copy of “Everyman a Speculator” under the other. Hmm…let’s see how do I put this politely? I have thousands of books. Most of them bought at discount and at a fair, excrutiatingly fair price from Edward R. Hamilton Booksellers. Visit them online and I can guarantee you – you will never shop at Borders or Barnes & Ignobler again. http://www.edwardrhamilton.com

2 responses to “Pt. 1: A Few of my Favorite Trad Things (insert music…)

  1. I just discoverd your blog through a comment you left my sister. I’m so happy you did — love the blog. I look forward to your future posts!!

  2. A fine start. I used to shop at A&F in the early 80’s. There was a store in Northern Virginia. Unfortunately, as a teenager, I didn’t have the wherewithal to purchase the safari gear I coveted.

Leave a Reply

